The Agricultural and Mechanical College of Texas is established in 1876 after the United States Congress approved the Morril Act in 1862. This act provided for donation of public land to the states for the purpose of funding higher education whose “leading object shall be, without excluding other scientific and classical studies, and including military tactics, to teach such branches of learning as are related to agriculture and mechanic arts.”